Posted by: dent73 | April 17, 2009

Exora is coming.

My wife and I went to Proton Mutiara Damansara last thursday, and got to view the  Exora. Looks like this is going to be the next thing in our shopping cart.

but not too soon. probably after a year or so..

Everthing in Exora looks good for the price.  I am not complaining on the “adequate” 1.6l engine.  since I am not going to race it.. My Rusa would do just fine for racing… uchhhh….

Just got some phobia with the gated gear shifter. Looks like it does not have any kind of locks.  I could change from P to any gears freely..  that would freaks me out – a little bit.

I wonder what would happen if Raziq or Raeiyd.. now 1.5yrs, and 3 years old, got to play with it, while the engine still running.

Ibu usually sits at the back, and I might be out to buy someting, and forgot to put in the hand brake… and this two boys would sits on the drivers seat and  starts moving the gears back and forth.

ouchhh can’t imagine…

Also, the teh tarik hook at the back of the front passenger seems frimly placed there.

hope Proton could make it “hideable” if it is not in use.  It is in the same level to the kids eyes. and it might be a hazard.. I might take the hook out if I’m going to buy it…

so on…


Responses

  1. Salam Dent,
    Be careful with the auto gear, last time my daughter yg 3 tahun tu dah “drive” kereta tu, mujur tak langgar sesiapa dan mujur juga suami cepat perasan. Anak Aina pun pernah langgar kereta orang

  2. Yo Dent.

    Yep, Exora is pretty impressive for a 1st time MPV. Boleh bagi Livina a run for its money. I am waiting for Perodua’s MPV hujung tahun ni. Time kita nak beli leboh kurang sama la.. sekitar 2011 😉

    Though that gated gear part is a bit interesting. Hmm, a thing to look out for later.

    • Pet,
      I will not go for Perodua MPV.
      I’ll stick to Proton… National pride…
      Perodua cuma a rebadge company….

      Anyway, I want to get the MPV soonest possible actually. My current Rusa MPVan geting old already…
      But the financial situation is somewhat uncertain.
      Rumah aku kat Klang dah siap.. mungkin dapat kunci dalam 1-2 bulan ni.
      Nak pakai duit lagi..

      So Aku kena wait and see what happen dalam 3-4 bulan ni…
      Especially after bulan 9 nanti, since my kontrek keje ends Sept.

      Kalau the grass is grener afterwards, then I will go for the MPV…

      Dent.

      anyway Toyota Sette, yang Perodua nak rebadge ni tak ada tayar spare compartment. cuma ada puncture kit je…. hopefully Perodua ada buat tempat nak letak tyre spare tu.. kalau tak masak la kau kalau pancit…

  3. No pic of Exora ke? Once in a while we do see Satria and the bigger bro (forgot the name) and I do wonder wht made them buy them in a pool of so many brands of cars here. Can’t be because of the prize only.

    The new Honda Jazz also doesn’t have spare tire. But the sale guy asked how often do we have puncture tire. Hmm hmm. Never say never. 🙂

    • Kak Mid,

      You could get lots of picture of the Exora from Google search. It is quite “complete” for a RM75k vehicle.

      Anyway, newer Proton cars are gaining grounds in the Europe, I think.
      Top Gear UK did filmed Satria Neo last week. The episode should be out in few weeks.
      http://www.wharf.co.uk/2009/04/top-gear-parks-in-the-wharf.html

      Hopefully it got good remarks, except that its smaller leg room was the major complain here and overseas.

      Satria Neo is also entering International Rally Championship (IRC) under the name Satria Neo Super 2000.
      Quite a lot of positive remarks there. You could look it up in Google.

      The bigger bro probably the Persona. My office’s pool car is a Persona. I think it is quite a stable and fun to drive car. The handling is quite impressive, but not as good as the Neo and the new Gen-2 CPS. It is targeted as a family sedan. So it should stay there.
      I did smoked few Civics and others while running through the KL-Karak highway bends.
      Did floored it to 190kmh for few minutes from Gambang to Kuantan. It was still stable at that speed. I guess it is good enough.

      With Exora, I think Proton has started to concentrate another crowd-pulling factor -> Safety. They target 4star EuroNCAP ratings. That has already got people interested.

      For the European market. I was told that they will put in diesel engines for the Exora. We will wait and see. And there will be 1.8 or 2.0 petrol for Exora in the future instead of “sufficient” 1.6liter that it has now .

      On spare tyre, For Malaysia, at least they should put in the small emergency tyre. I think the Malaysian Jazz do have it.

      I was told the original Toyota Passo Sette didn’t have the spare tyre too. But I think the Perodua rebadged version (that is going to be launched Sept 2009) will have it. If not, they will definitely got one point less to compete with the Exora.

      Dent


Leave a comment

Categories